Cooking Therapy – Roasted Potatoes with Bacon and a Fried Egg

Chop, slice, dice. There’s something incredibly therapeutic about cooking. Chop, slice, dice. You don’t really need to think about anything other than what’s directly in front of you. Chop, slice, dice. Nothing has to be perfect, I just has to be done. Chop, slice, dice. You can stop thinking about the shitty things happening around you for the moment. Season, shake, pour. And just cook. Cover, seal, bake. And something good will come out in the end. Uncover, broil, serve. 

The last few weeks/months have been hard on me and my family. I’ve been going through losses, changes, and disappointments. I think there comes a point for everyone where you can’t stop ignoring all of the negative feelings inside and you just have to let them wash over you. You recognize that you feel sad, or angry, or upset and respect those feelings and learn to let them go.

I’ve realized lately that cooking serves as that sort of meditative tool that helps ground me when I’m not at my best, at least that’s the case when I cook with the sole purpose of cooking, to just dedicate that period of time to whatever it is that I’m making. It doesn’t have to be perfect, just has to be done with intention. So Saturday morning, when nothing seemed to make sense anymore and I couldn’t stop myself from crying or obsessing on those negative emotions that were eating me up, I got out of bed grabbed some potatoes and set myself to task: Chop, slice, dice. Chop, slice, dice. Chop, slice, dice. Chop, slice, dice. Season, shake, pour. Cover, seal, bake. Uncover, broil, serve.

Roasted Potatoes with Bacon and a Fried Egg (serves 2)

  • 4 Red Potatoes, diced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1tbs Canola Oil
  • 4 strips of bacon
  • 2 whole eggs

Directions

  1. Dice potatoes into approximately 1cm cubes
  2. Place cubed potatoes in a bowl, drizzle canola oil
  3. Season potatoes, shake the bowl or mix by hand to make sure it’s distributed evenly
  4. Pour onto a foil lined baking tray, let the foil overhang so you can fold it over and seal the potatoes in the foil
  5. Bake at 450 for 20 minutes
  6. Uncover the potatoes and broil for 10 minutes or until golden
  7. Cook bacon (I prefer in the oven) and crumble into the roasted potatoes
  8. Fry the eggs, try to keep the yolk runny for extra yum factor
  9. Top potatoes and bacon with a fried egg

Pro Tips: I’ve found that by essentially steaming the potatoes in the foil packet you don’t have to worry so much about the potatoes cooking through or being dry. Be sure to season liberally, particularly the oil as that will help with some of the sticking.

Leave a Reply

