Chicken Liver Paté

I have to admit something. I’ve never actually made this before. But this is something I’ve been wanting to recreate since my days back in Cochabamba. I can’t think of the words to exactly describe just how secretly happy I would be when I would sit down for breakfast with my host family to find not only the most delicious fresh bread I’ve ever had (I was lucky and had this as a daily occurrence) but also that distinctive gold and red tube of paté. I’ve never had anything like it since.

I’ve had french paté and have always hated it, probably because it’s over-complicated with things like little pickles and capers which impart a flavor that I can not stand. The thing about this Bolivian paté is that it’s dead simple. I don’t quite remember the ingredients, but I’m pretty sure they would be something similar to this recipe.

Chicken Liver Paté

Honestly, I don’t know why liver has such a bad reputation among people, especially Americans. I kind of want to blame fancy French restaurants and the overuse of brined ingredients. I know it might be scary to try liver, but if you’re going to try it I think this might be the recipe to do so. It’s easy and delicious and cheap and quick.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lbs chicken livers (thoroughly cleaned and looked over for dark spots)
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 tsp oregano (or your favorite herbs)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1-1 1/2 sticks of butter
  • 2 tsp of port or scotch
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Clean and trim up your chicken livers. Make sure to remove any dark spots
  2. Slice up half of an onion as thinly as you can
  3. Crush a garlic clove
  4. Add the above ingredients along with the bay leave and the water to a saucepan and bring to a simmer stirring occasionally
  5. Once it’s at a simmer, bring the temperature down to low, cover and simmer for another 3 minutes or so
  6. Check to see if the liver is slightly pink in the center, if so remove from heat and let stand for about 5 minutes
  7. Strain everything and remove the bay leave then blend in a blender until a paste forms
  8. Add butter a little bit at a time and blend until smooth
  9. Add your choice of port or scotch while blending
  10. Add salt and pepper while blending
  11. Strain the paté through a fine mesh sieve into ramekins, cover with plastic wrap, and place in the refrigerator to set
  12. Serve with some nice fresh french bread or toast

 

Leave a Reply

