Christmas Baking

It’s that time of year again, Christmas time! I love this time of year between Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s just the best combination of what I love:  family and food. No, I do not cook my family, that is both cannibalistic and gross. I cook FOR my family and it all starts with Thanksgiving turkey and ends with Christmas treats.

I started with my Christmas baking came about a few years ago. As a broke college student who still wanted to give some gifts, I started baking cookies for friends and family. Now I feel like it has just grown year after year to what it is today. Part of this is also because I have friends and family all over the United States, from San Francisco to Miami and I like to mail them their holiday cheer as well. Plus, I make really big treat boxes….

To be honest, I put much more effort into my Christmas baking and festivities than Thanksgiving. And I finally feel like I’m organized for this year’s bake-fest, I’ve even developed an excel spreadsheet to figure out how much flour and other key ingredients I’ll need in order to make everything that I plan on making. So far, I have a bag of flour, twenty-two eggs, and fifteen and a half sticks of butter… I’m making A LOT of cookies this year.  On the list:

  • Brownies
  • Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Lemon Crinkle Cookies
  • Gingerbread Men
  • Sugar Swirl Cookies
  • Lemon Cake Balls
  • Chocolate Cake Balls
  • Peanut Butter Cookies (maybe… these haven’t entered into my calculations just yet)

Since this is quite a large list, I’m going to start with the preparation of the doughs over this weekend and the next then finish baking everything a day or two before Christmas Eve. Why Christmas Eve? Well that would be a family idiosyncrasy where our family likes to wait until 9pm Christmas Eve to celebrate along with the rest of our Peruvian family. Admittedly, we don’t always wait that long but I still like the tradition we have.

So happy holidays to all of you, and I hope you have your own traditions to follow. Soon to come will be some of the recipes and pictures of this year’s treats!

Leave a Reply

